Feel the Force, or The Layers of Mistresspretations

 

Few weeks months later after I finished my ‘reinterpretation’ exercise with Las Meninas I made a similar try with another famous work, so called Gabrielle d’Estrées et une de ses sœurs, Gabrielle d’Estrées pne of her sisters (for both heroines it is necessary to add ‘supposedly’), created in the end of 16th century by one anonymous master of the School of Fontainebleau.

Again, similar to Las Meninas I knew a few basic ‘facts & figures’ about this painting, but not much, and my focus was more on the numerous remakes I found (you can still see these slides, I linked them to the picture above).  I was amused by their quantity, but also by the striking difference between this set, and the one of Meninas. The later was all joy and carnival, and the former was much more bitter, and puzzling as if the painting of the two beautiful bare-breasted ladies had some some skeleton in the cupboard.

It is then I decided to dig a bit deeper into this story, and learn more about this painting, and the context of its creation. And there was quite a skeleton there, as I figured out soon!

Leave a Reply

